SHOES – Marlene Moeller

PART 1:

I will never forget my high school prom. I always imagined it as the longest night of my life with endless dancing and a final breakfast with all my friends. But that was only an imagination. Reality looked different. As a 6 foot 2 girl I always wear flats cause I obviously do not want to be taller than every guy in the club. But who wears sandals at prom night. If you really want to look good at this event high heels are a must-have. So for the first time in my life I was wearing heels. And the only thing I was thinking about when I put those spectacular shoes on was how long my legs looked in the fancy dress I was wearing. Just an hour later when only the welcoming speeches were over I could not think about anything but pain. I suffered through the opening dance with my father and the first following song and then the endless dancing night abruptly ended and turned into a seated conversation with my parents while all my friends were having the fun of their life on the dance floor. The only good thing about the whole situation was that in the course of the night more and more of my friends joined our conversation, surprisingly all of them were females. Instead of protecting my feet from glass pieces on the floor and the cold of a German winter my shoes absolutely failed their purpose and destroyed my prom night.

PART 2:

One of the subversive things I discovered about shoes is that something that used to be a simply object to protects people’s feet became a billion dollar business.

“An outer covering for the human foot, normally made of leather (but often of other materials) and consisting of a more or less stiff sole and a lighter upper part” (“shoe”).

Seeing this description of what a shoe really was supposed to be and how over the years it became a status symbol and a mainly female addiction was pretty impressive and got me dig deeper into the topic.

Work Cited

“shoe, n.” OED Online. Oxford University Press, March 2014. Web. 9 April 2014.

 

Leave a comment