The Struggle of School is Real by Lindsey Greenberg

 

                Ever since I was a little girl I have been in and out of schools. I have attended seven different schools throughout my life.  From third until eighth grade I was put into a very expensive private school.  My parents did everything in their power to further me in my education, and I can honestly say that I believe I took it all for granted.  From pre-K until ninth grade I was an A-B student.  I tried my best on everything I did, and asked for help when needed.  As a sophomore I became friends with the wrong people and became part of the partying crowd.  I started slacking in all of my classes, and I had my grades to show it.  By the end of my sophomore year I had under a 3.0 GPA.  Junior year in high school I made a plethora of mistakes.  I skipped school to go out with friends, I showed up late to every one of my classes, and I had an entire list of excuses for when I missed a day.  I thought high school was a time for partying and making friends but little did I know that it would be preparing me for college in the future. 

As a senior I got my act back together finally realizing that if I wanted to attend college I was going to have to study and achieve better grades.  Now that I look back at all of those opportunities to learn that I passed up on I highly regret it.  I am now in college at Florida Gulf Coast University and I am proud of how far I have come.  Coming into college I was nervous that I would fail.  I was scared that I would get into a routine of skipping classes since no one would be here pushing me to go to school.  I am happy to say that I go to class, I do my work, I ask questions, I use my resources that are offered to me and I am succeeding way beyond what I expected.  I am taking a variety of classes although I am a business major I have not decided if that is the major I want to stay with.  My goal is to see what interests me most, and hope that I can do well in the classes that the major offers. 

I now realize that college is an opportunity that not everyone gets.  College is very costly, and not everyone can afford it.  I consider myself beyond lucky to have to chance to learn about the world of business that goes on around me and I am going to take full advantage of what is offered at FGCU.  

Leave a comment