Half My Life : Megan Mohlman

  1. My name is Megan Mohlman
  2.  COMP1
  3. Right now I am undecided, but I am thinking about majoring in business.
  4. My hobbies include watching movies or TV series on Netflix, going to the beach or any sunny place for that matter, baking deserts, and painting nails.
  5. An unusual skill I have is nail art.  I get the tiniest brushes and make intricate designs on me and my friends nails.  I really enjoy the process of mixing colors and forming the lines of paint to be perfectly even.  I can spend hours painting designs on a nail wheel, which is a little circle with artificial nails sticking off of it.  I’ve been doing this for about three years now and hope to someday make a business out of it.
  6. Growing up I lived in Ohio on a ten acre farm so I didn’t have the most conventional toys.  I was rarely inside, so my favorite childhood toy would have to be all my animals.  I had a light brown horse named Cherokee and a dark chocolate colored mini named Griffin.  I also had a coop of chickens as well as three goats. My little sister and I would always be in the barn feeding them, playing with them, and just being around them.  This was my favorite ‘toy’ because I got to experience something that most kids don’t get to.
  7. The last thing I read was the third book in the Uglies series by Scott Westerfeld, Specials.
  8. The book that has had the most influence on me is The Things They Carried by Tim O’Brien.  It has been the most influential because it was the first book I was assigned to read in high school that I really loved.  I looked forward to coming to class to discuss it and to talk about all its exciting details.  Also, reading this has given me a different perspective on how the soldiers felt in the Vietnam War.  It really opened my eyes to the mental barriers the soldiers had to overcome in the war as well as the multitude of barriers they were left with once it ended.
  9. An object I always carry with me is my cell phone.  It is an iPhone 4.  I always keep it with me because it has games, calculators, it helps me keep in touch with my family and friends, tells me the time, and more.
  10.  One implication that the title Half A Life could have is the author, Darin Strauss, lived only half of his life the way he would want to.  He lived the other half for Celine Zilke, the girl he killed.  He made life choices and hard decisions with what she would of wanted in mind.  Another implication is that halfway through his life is when he killed her.  Meaning that she only lived half of her life and will never get to fulfill the latter half.

Leave a comment